Slow Cooker  Spiced  Apple  Porridge 

I don’t know about you, but I love waking up in the morning to the smell of something warming and delicious, it makes coming round from a good night’s sleep more bearable! The smell I usually come alive to is coffee, but last night I got my organised hat on and set to work getting a very simple spiced apple porridge in the slow cooker. 

In a Pyrex bowl, which fitted comfortably in my slow cooker, I mixed together two grated apples, a teaspoon of ground cinnamon, grated nutmeg, two thirds of a mug of oats and a pinch of salt. 

I put the bowl into the slow cooker before pouring milk into the rest of the ingredients and stiring well. 

I poured cold water into the bowl of the slow cooker to, in effect, create a bain-marie before setting it to low and putting the lid on. That was about 10pm last night, and by 8am we had warm, smooth spiced porridge. 

Give it a good mix and serve in bowls with toppings of your choice. We opted simply for maple syrup. Delicious! 

Leave a comment