Roasted butternut squash seeds

image

After his smiling eyes, warm bear hugs and Assyrian accent, when I think about my Papa I always think about salted pumpkin seeds, and how he used to crack them open with his front teeth. It’s just one of those strange little  anomalies that made my Papa, Papa.
image

I so often throw squash or pumpkin seeds away but I finally made time to roast some off. When I say made time, it was a couple of mins prep time, plus 15-20 mins roasting time.

Simply wash the seeds, dry them, then pile them up on a baking tray lined with greaseproof paper. Season using whatever herbs or spices you fancy (I used garlic and herb salt), spread the into a single layer on the baking sheet and roast for 15-20 minutes at about 170oC. Delicious and nutritious!

image

Dry them after washing

image

My little helper couldn't wait to get stuck in!

image

Ready to bake

image

One thought on “Roasted butternut squash seeds

  1. Pingback: Crunchy Chick Peas | Teacups & Pearls

Leave a comment