Elsa doll cake

image

When I look at this cake the words “never” and “again” spring to mind. It probably would’ve been a lot easier had I had enough fondant to roll it out slightly thicker. As it happened I didn’t, and the result was that the skirt kept splitting, so under that white cape is actually a complete mess, hence there aren’t any pictures of the icing process. My hands were too sticky and my head to stressy to think about pics! Anyway,  here’s the link to the tutorial I was following, although you’ll notice the end results are pretty different due to the icing saga! I used three quantities of a basic Victoria sponge recipe and baked two in round springform tins and the third in a Pyrex bowl.

image

Slice each cake in half and fill with seedless raspberry jam

image

Stick each cake on top of each other using buttercream as the glue

image

Wrap Elsa in cling from the waist down

image

Carve a hole out using a knife

image

Stick Elsa in up to her hips.

image

Shave bits off the cake to create a skirt shape.

image

image

Cover in buttercream and chill for an hour.

At this point the disasters started so I’m afraid the next pic I have is this one…

image

I used flower paste to make the cape, and royal icing for the snow and snowflakes. The main thing is that the little one loved it!

image

image

Here’s what it looked like inside:

image

If you’d like to see the last Frozen cake I made (for her last birthday) you can check it out here.

Leave a Reply

