Annie Sloan dressing table makeover

When it comes to upcycling things, I’m a bit of a late starter.  Bar a blind in our downstairs loo and a very bad job on a dressing table mirror, I’ve never really taken on a project.  For Pb’s birthday we’ve decided to give her bedroom a bit of a makeover and as part of that I thought I’d paint my old dressing table which has been my sewing table since we moved house a couple of years ago. With every Mary, Martha and Mildred raving about Annie Sloan chalk paint on Pinterest and Instagram, I wanted to see what all the hype is about.  After watching various tutorials on YouTube I was left wondering if there’s anything you can’t give the Annie Sloan treatment? Wood, metal, plastics and even upholstery, you could even slap a bit on your granny to take her from drab and outdated to vintage chic. Ok, maybe that’s a step too far, but you get the idea.

A friend very kindly passed on some paint she had left over.

image

Here’s a before pic:

image

What I love about this is that there is no sanding or priming. You quite literally wipe the piece down to get rid of any dust or grime and paint away. I gave the sides, stool and draw fronts two coats and the top three. I think I may have applied it too thickly but the paint really is forgiving and anyway imperfections can be beautiful.

image
Three hours later I was ready to wax. This really is a simple process. I simply used a lint free cloth to wrote the soft clear wax on in circular motions. I’ll leave it to cure for twenty four hours and then apply another coat of wax to seal the top. Et voila! Easy peasey! I can’t believe I left it so long before having a go. Now I just need to recover the stool cushion using the fabric in the photo and it’ll be ready for a certain little almost 4 year old!
image

4 thoughts on “Annie Sloan dressing table makeover

  1. Welcome to the world of Annie Sloan! I’ve done a few pieces of furniture. It’s great. To be honest, I think it’s because there’s no rubbing down etc, that makes it so appealing. Anything for an easy life! Well done it looks brilliant x

  2. Pingback: A fast (cheat) way to recover a stool | Teacups & Pearls

  3. Pingback: Princess bedroom makeover | Teacups & Pearls

Leave a Reply

