Frugal February week 3

Well hello again.  Where is February going? I don’t know about you, but to me it seems to be flying by.

Our oven packed up yesterday, half way through cooking a beautiful roast dinner for friends! Thankfully, the top oven was still going well enough to finish everything off, but obviously this week we’ll be eating things that can either by done on the hob, grill or slow cooker while we wait for a new one to be delivered.

Monday: Tonight’s dinner was rather bland and uninspired I’m afraid. I didn’t even bother with a photo. Pb and I had slow cooked chicken pieces while Ste had boring packet veggie sausages with veg and boiled potatoes. I worked it out to be roughly £3.80

Tuesday: Shrove Tuesday! My favourite Tuesday of the year! Before the  obligatory stack of pancakes (crepe style if you’re American) smothered in maple syrup or vanilla sugar and lemon, we’ll have a little bowl of healthful leek & potato soup to get some goodness into us! £2

Wednesday: Half side of salmon with pesto, and vegetable infused cous cous. Salmon was in offer today in the supermarket. I got an entire side for £8 which will do two meals for us, so I froze one half of it. This is the most expensive meal this week at about £6.50

Thursday: Quorn & vegetable spaghetti bolognaise. £2.90

Friday: Friday night curry. Thai I think. Prawn for Ste and chicken for Pb and I. I managed to pick up a couple of packs of organic chicken pieces for £2 each today. Half a pack will do the two of us, and we’ve already got the rice and spices in, so all in, it will prob only cost us £3.50. Much more economical than a take away. I’ve been useless this week when it has come to photos. Largely because I’ve simply forgotten, but here’s one of the curry. I used my Nutribullet green Thai curry paste recipe. It says delicious!
image

I haven’t planned for the weekend yet.  What’s on your menu this week?

Leave a Reply

