Sweet steamed coconut milk buns

This afternoon I indulged a little and enjoyed a sit down in front of the telly.  I watched Jamie Oliver make these beautiful coconut milk buns on his ’15 Minute Meals’ show. With a midweek church meeting at our house this evening I wondered whether I could come up with a sweet version to serve instead of the usual cakes or cookies.

I used:
1 can coconut milk
2 cans (use the Coconut milk can) self raising flour
Some chopped pistachio nuts
A teaspoon of vanilla extract
The zest of one lemon (I’d have used lime if I had one in).
3 drops high strength lime extract
2 heaped dessert spoons of desicated coconut.

Mix all the ingredients together (I used the dough hook attachment on the kitchen aid). Turn out onto a floured surface and lightly knead to bring together. Cut into 10 equal sized pieces and roll into balls. Place into doubled up paper muffin cases and steam for 12 minutes. I don’t have a bamboo steamer (despite one being on my ‘to buy’ list for ages) but my stainless steel one worked perfectly.

image

After 12 mins they’ll look something like this:

image

image

Make a glaze using icing sugar and milk, spoon over the warm buns and sprinkle with desicated coconut. Enjoy!

image

Oh, if anyone is wondering which lime extract I used there’s a picture below. I found it at a food festival and believe me, a little goes a long way!

image

6 thoughts on “Sweet steamed coconut milk buns

Leave a Reply

