Chocolate and peanut butter cheesecake

image

This cake is not for the faint hearted, or weak hearted for that matter. If you’re watching your calorie intake you’re reading the wrong blog, as this is the ultimate in chocolate peanut butter blow outs.

A friend had given me a jar of chocolate spread, and because it’s not the type of thing I’d usually spread on my toast I wanted a recipe to use it up. Hence coming up with this beauty!

For the base I used a packet of chocolate digestive biscuits, some salted peanuts, and melted butter. Having accidently put too much butter in the biscuit crumbs, I needed to ad-lib a little using whatever I could lay my hands on to soak up the excess butter, as we didn’t have any other biscuits in. So, some pretzels and granola later the base was ready. I pressed it into a springform tin and chilled it whilst making the topping.

The topping was completely made up as I went along. I whipped approx 300ml double cream  then mixed in 500g mascarpone, a jar of smooth peanut butter and a jar of chocolate spread. It needed a bit of something sour to cut through the richness and about 200ml of natural yoghurt did the trick.  After spreading the topping on the base I drizzled about 50g melted milk chocolate over the cheesecake and sprinkled with crushed salted peanuts. Leave to set in the fridge over night.

image

This dessert was one of a few I did for a welcome home party for some friends who had just arrived back from a round the world adventure.

image

I also did a rhubarb, strawberry and rose water pavlova:

image

Mini creme pat and filo, fruit tartlets (recipe here) :

image

A fruit platter and a cheeseboard.

image

It was a great success and a lovely evening was had by all.

2 thoughts on “Chocolate and peanut butter cheesecake

  1. Pingback: Nutella cheesecake | Teacups & Pearls

Leave a Reply

