Chocolate and peanut butter cake pops

image

In my previous post I showed you my Chocolate and Peanut Butter Frosting Mini Cakes and was aware that some of you may be wondering what I did with all the left over scraps of cake once I’d cut out the mini cakes?

image

Well,  I would’ve been well within my rights to devour it myself, however I had a far more creative idea up my sleeve… Cake Pops! I’ve never attempted them before, but with all that cake and peanut butter frosting left over it just made sense!

Put all the cake and some of frosting in the mixer.

image

Beat until it’s all combined. It needs to be pretty sticky to hold its form, so you may need to add in more frosting as you go.

image

Now get your hands in there and roll the mixture into little balls.

image

Leave to firm up in the fridge for a few hours (I actually left mine overnight). Once firm, crush some salted peanuts for decoration, melt some chocolate for dipping, get some skewers and something to stand them in to dry (I used a piece of left over butternut squash).

image

image

image

Put a skewer in one of the balls, blunt end first, then dip in chocolate, sprinkle with the bashed up peanut pieces, and push into the squash to dry. Et voila! Easy peasey!

image

image

There’s no way we could manage all those cake pops in one go, so I did six as little after dinner treats for our Sunday lunch guests tomorrow, and put the remaining balls in the freezer for use at a later date.

image

Leave a Reply

