Creative People

image

A friend of mine posted the picture above on Facebook and it struck a chord.  What stood out to me is that the first five statements are often, if not usually, perceived to be negative.  Why is it that way though?

Someone once said to me “only boring people get bored”. Absolute poppycock! I for one get easily bored because I have so many ideas, dreams and ambitions whizzing around in my head, and I’m constantly trying them out and moving from one thing to the next. I have a creative mind, that’s just how I’m wired and I certainly don’t feel bad about it.  I find it easy to take risks because I don’t fear failure. Without failing at something how do we ever learn? Some of my biggest failures have been my greatest adventures and I don’t regret experiencing them. I guess the point I’m trying to make is that we shouldn’t feel guilty for dancing to the beat of our own drums. We are all unique, with unique purposes and ambitions and should be celebrating and encouraging each other to be true to ourselves, regardless of the perceived limitations society has created over the years. I think this is much more of an issue here in the UK, than any other culture I have experienced. Stiff upper lip and all that!

Fulton Oursler once said, “Many of us crucify ourselves between two thieves, regret for the past and fear of the future.” If you have a creative bone in your body (which, incidentally I believe we all do), pursue it confidently, don’t be afraid to fail and for goodness sake don’t fall victim to what others may think of your endeavours, oftentimes it are those who have an opinion that need releasing from the invisible confinements they’ve barricaded themselves in.

You have one life to live on this earth, live it well and indulge your creativity.

2 thoughts on “Creative People

  1. Very interesting …. I share your thoughts on the fear of failure and how that can stifle the pursuit of adventure.
    Funnily enough, one of my parental goals is to (try to) encourage my children to accept (& to some degree celebrate) failure. To give them the tools to pick themselves up, dust themselves down, learn from the experience ….. AND MOVE ON ….. HAPPILY.
    Again “funnily enough”, I was rereading yesterday some thoughts I’d jotted re the perils of “stiff upper lip” and over examining situations – being this way can sometimes lead to missed opportunities.
    Thank you for your thought provocation!

    • Hi Anne, thanks for your comments. I obviously share your opinion about bringing our children up to almost embrace failure! I was brought up in a home where failures were classed as learning curves which can only be a positive thing. As for the British-ness if you will, I guess it’s about chewing the cud and spitting the sticks…taking the best of British and leaving the rest behind. That’s the only way we’ll see significant cultural change. Xxx

Leave a Reply

