Hot chocolate on sticks.

image

I have never tempered chocolate before… Until tonight, when I made over 80 hot chocolates on sticks for favours at a Christmas Craft Cafe I’ve organised for this coming Saturday. I’m not sure what possessed me to do it in such vast quantities. I guess I like a challenge. My husband thinks I’m off my rocker, and I think he might be right. I would not advise doing it on the scale I did. I used 50 100g bars of dark chocolate. The tempering technique I used is on the BBC Good Food website.

The idea of a hot chocolate stick is that you swirl it into a mug of hot milk, to create an indulgent and delicious treat.

Apart from the tempering, the process is so straightforward. Basically, pouring melted chocolate into moulds, sticking a stick in it and topping it with mini marshmallows. Here are some pics, including ones from the tempering process.

image

Lay your moulds out

image

image

Melt in a bain-marie

image

For tempering dark chocolate the temp needs to get to about 55oC before lowering the temperature by seeding.

image

Hubby trying to lower the temp! Outside, in the UK on a December evening!

image

It took longer than we expected!

image

Heating the mixture up again using the seeding technique.

image

Pour into moulds.

image

Stick a stick in it and top with mallows.

image

Et voila!

image

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Hot chocolate on sticks.

Leave a Reply

