The Hairy Bikers’ Gyoza Recipe

image

I have a borderline irrational love of gyoza. Beautiful little soft dumplings, packed with flavour, half fried, half steamed, made all the more delicious by soy and chilli dipping sauces. My mouth is watering at the thought! Anyway, a few weeks ago I saw the Hairy Bikers make some on TV and I have been waiting for an opportunity to try them out ever since. With my cousin and his lovely new wife coming to stay for the weekend I thought the gyoza would make a perfect Saturday night starter. The link to the recipe is here, but here’s how I got on in pictures…

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

So, the verdict…Not bad for a home made first attempt, but I have to admit they’re not the best I’ve had. I think I under cooked them, but they were a bit too crabby tasting for me. I’m not a great fan of brown crab meat and next time I’d definitely use less and sub it with more prawns. We shall see what the guests think tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

