Pancakes but not as you know them.

image (7)It’s Shrove Tuesday tomorrow, quite possible my favourite day of the year! I LOVE pancakes and could quite happily eat them all day every day, however, they are definitely not on the diet plan this year, so I decided to test a quirky recipe a friend shared with me which is compatible with my diet. For those of you following the Slimming World plan, it’s actually Syn free! Sing it with me…OH HAPPY DAY!

So, this is what you’ll need:
2 eggs
2-3 tsps sweetener (the amount you will need will vary depending on your taste and brand. I used Truvia)
1 tsp vanilla extract
Low fat cooking spray
Toppings of your choice

image (2)

Start by separating the eggs. Whisk the white with the sweetener until fluffy and white. They need to be soft rather than stiff peaks you would need for meringue.

image (3)

In a separate bowl mix the yolks with the vanilla extract, then gently fold into the whisked egg whites. This is your batter.

image (4)

Now mist a non-stick frying pan with the oil and allow to heat up over a medium heat. Using a spatula, spoon some of the mixture in to the pan and spread out to make a small pancake shape.

image (5)

Leave for a few seconds then carefully flip it over. These pancakes are much more delicate than their calorie laden counterparts so take your time.

image (6)

Top with whatever you fancy and enjoy! I got 4 small pancakes out of this mixture, and topped them with fat free yoghurt and blueberries.

image (7)

And the verdict? For a diet substitute they were great and I didn’t feel I was missing out, although they don’t quite taste the same as regular ones. The hubster described them as French toast without the toast (omlette then?). Next time I think I’d put a bit more sweetener in.

Give them a try and let me know what you think. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

