Being the Bible

William J. Toms once said, “Be careful how you live, you will be the only bible some people ever read.”

Wow. As a Christian this scares me. The statement is so ‘smack-in-the face’ true, yet I am so human.

When Ste and I embarked on this journey of leading a church, many friends joked that I was the last person on earth they expected to end up being a pastor’s wife. To be fair, I agreed. My ability to bake is probably the only box I ticked in the stereotypical church leaders’ wife stakes. I had to remind myself, and my friends in some cases, that I am not a Christian because I’m perfect and worthy of redemption through Jesus Christ, but in fact for the complete opposite. I am flawed, a million miles from perfect and I realise that the only way I’m going to get to heaven is by the grace of God. Does this assurance give me the right to live how I see fit though? Absolutely not.

As believers we have a responsibility to share our faith, and as the old adage says, “actions speak louder than words”. Regardless of what we say it’s our actions that will have the most impact to peoples’ perceptions of us. Are we actually living what we’re professing? Do our actions mirror our words? Are they aligned? Do we radiate love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control?

I don’t know about you, but if I am in fact the only bible some people will ever read then I definitely want to ensure what they’re reading is an accurate portrayal of God’s love for mankind. How do we do that? By, “Looking away (from all that will distract) to Jesus, who is the leader and the source of our faith (giving the first incentive for our belief) and is also its finisher (bringing it to maturity and perfection).” Hebrew 12:2 (AMP)

3 thoughts on “Being the Bible

  1. it is so true, an awesome resposibility to live the true gospel. it is called sacrifice, dying to self and living for Jesus, it is only when we do this that the fruits of the spirit become a natural part of who we are, part of our Character. This life as a Christian is not a crutch as some would suggest but it is an exciting journey of character building and life shaping, showing the message of His love to the world we live in, as a natural part of who we are, not just when we think people are watching. It’s all about Him crucified not about us. Lord help us to live truly authentic Christian lives and to be the Bible to all those you place in our path.

  2. Pingback: Your favourite posts of 2013. | Teacups & Pearls

Leave a Reply

